UAE Golden Residency AED 2 Million Public Investment Route: 10-Year Residence

Under the UAE Golden Residency public-investment route, the stated residence period is 10 years. The Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP) Golden Residency Guide lists a minimum capital investment of AED 2 million and presents the public-investment evidence as an accredited-investment-fund letter confirming a deposit of no less than AED 2 million, together with company documents, or a Federal Tax Authority letter confirming that the owner or partner pays taxes of no less than AED 250,000 annually.

Verification date: 2026-08-31. Every residence period, amount, threshold, fee, fine, and service timing below was checked against the cited ICP material on that date.

What evidence does ICP list for the public-investment requirement?

The public-investment document list separates the fund-deposit evidence from the Federal Tax Authority alternative:

Listed evidence option Documents and requirements stated by ICP
Accredited investment fund and company documents A letter from an accredited investment fund confirming a deposit of no less than AED 2 million; a valid commercial or industrial licence; and the company’s Memorandum of Association showing capital of no less than AED 2 million.
Federal Tax Authority letter A letter from the Federal Tax Authority confirming that the owner or partner pays taxes of no less than AED 250,000 annually.

The same AED 2 million figure appears in distinct roles: the overview’s minimum capital investment, the deposit confirmed by the accredited fund, and the company capital stated in the Memorandum of Association. An investment-fund letter should therefore not be assumed to replace the company documents, and the company capital should not be confused with the fund deposit.

The cited list uses “or” before the Federal Tax Authority letter, presenting it as the stated alternative to the preceding fund and company evidence. The exact evidence package for an individual application should still be confirmed with ICP.

What does the 10-year Golden Residency allow?

According to the ICP guide, eligible long-term residents may:

  • Live, work, study, and invest in the UAE.
  • Apply for residency permits for their spouse and children.
  • Renew their Golden Residency automatically.
  • Hold the residency without a sponsor.
  • Receive the benefits and privileges available to UAE residents.

The public-investment residence period is 10 years. The guide separately lists 5 years for real-estate investors, so the public-investment category should not be confused with the real-estate category.

What is in the Resident-category residence visa file?

The ICP public-investment residence-visa service page applies to the Resident category. It describes the service as the issuance of a residence visa for an investor in public investments as part of the procedures for obtaining 10-year Golden Residency.

Service item ICP requirement
Passport Required
Personal photograph Required
Golden Residency eligibility Proof of eligibility required
Health insurance A valid health insurance policy within the UAE
Responsible government entity Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security

The investment documents explain eligibility, while the Resident service separately requires the passport, personal photograph, proof of Golden Residency eligibility, and valid UAE health insurance.

What fees and completion period does ICP publish?

The following amounts are covered by the verification date stated above:

Amount ICP figure
Application fee 100 AED
Issuance fee 47 AED
Smart Services fee 100 AED
Permitted-stay or entry-visa expiry fine 50 AED per day

The service completion duration is 2 days. This is the completion duration published on the ICP service page, not a promise of approval or a guaranteed completion date for an individual file. The cited entry does not specify whether the duration is measured in calendar or working days.

How can the service be accessed?

The ICP service page lists the following channels:

  • ICP Smart App for applications.
  • ICP Smart Services Website for online services.
  • UAE Pass login, which is required to use the service.
  • The Smart Services System is available 7/24.
  • Customer Happiness Centres provide assistance during their working hours.
  • Applicants may also visit a service centre within the United Arab Emirates.

These details concern the UAE Golden Residency public-investment category and its Resident visa service. They should not be applied automatically to another country, visa programme, or UAE Golden Residency category. Readers should confirm current requirements with ICP or the relevant immigration authority or consulate before submitting documents.

Frequently asked questions

Why do the AED 2 million deposit and company capital matter separately?

ICP uses the amount in different parts of the public-investment evidence. The accredited investment fund must confirm a deposit of no less than AED 2 million, while the company’s Memorandum of Association must show capital of no less than AED 2 million. The guide also identifies AED 2 million as the minimum capital investment in its investor overview.

Can the Federal Tax Authority letter replace the fund and company documents?

The public-investment document list uses “or” before the Federal Tax Authority letter, so it is presented as the listed alternative to the preceding fund and company evidence. That letter must confirm that the owner or partner pays taxes of no less than AED 250,000 annually. Confirm the applicable document combination with ICP before filing.

Is public investment the same as the real-estate Golden Residency category?

No. The ICP guide states a residence period of 10 years for public investments and 5 years for real-estate investments.

Does the 2-day completion duration guarantee approval?

No. ICP publishes a service completion duration of 2 days, but that figure is not an approval promise or a guarantee of an individual application’s outcome.

Can a spouse and children obtain residency permits?

The ICP guide says Golden Residency allows holders to obtain residency permits for their spouse and children. The cited Resident service page does not state family-specific fees or a separate family processing period.

Sources

Important Disclaimer

This information is for educational purposes only and does not constitute legal or immigration advice. Consult a licensed immigration professional before making investment decisions. Requirements for the Spain Golden Visa are subject to change. Always verify with official government sources.