UAE Green Residence Freelancer: AED 360,000 Annual Income for Two Years and 5-Year Visa
Verification date: 31 August 2026. The UAE ICP’s official Green Residence Guide, checked on that date, places freelancers in the “Freelancers and Self-employed Individuals” category rather than the employed “Skilled Workers” route. A freelancer must have annual freelance-work income of at least AED 360,000, or the equivalent in foreign currencies, during the previous two years; the Green Residence term is five years, with an option of renewal.
What separates the freelancer route from the employed skilled-worker route?
The two categories have different work-authority, qualification and financial conditions. Requirements listed for one category should not be substituted for those of the other.
| Condition | Freelancers and Self-employed Individuals | Employed Skilled Workers |
|---|---|---|
| UAE work evidence | A freelance work permit or self-employment permit issued by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (MOHRE) | A valid employment contract within the UAE |
| Minimum qualification | No less than a bachelor’s degree, specialised diploma or equivalent qualification | No less than a bachelor’s degree |
| Income requirement | Annual freelance-work income of at least AED 360,000, or the foreign-currency equivalent, during the previous two years; checked 31 August 2026 | Minimum monthly salary of AED 15,000, or the foreign-currency equivalent; checked 31 August 2026 |
| Occupational classification | Not specified for this category in the cited conditions | Professional classification from levels 1 to 3 under MOHRE’s approved occupational classification; checked 31 August 2026 |
The employed skilled-worker conditions therefore do not replace the freelance permit, historical freelance-income test or continuing financial evidence listed for the freelancer category.
What does a UAE Green Residence freelancer need to establish?
The guide identifies the following core requirements:
- An MOHRE permit: Either a freelance work permit or a self-employment permit issued by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation.
- A qualifying education: No less than a bachelor’s degree, a specialised diploma or an equivalent qualification.
- Historical freelance income: Annual income from freelance work during the previous two years must be at least AED 360,000 or its foreign-currency equivalent; checked 31 August 2026.
- Continuing financial capacity: Proof of stable annual income or financial solvency throughout the period of residence in the UAE; checked 31 August 2026.
These are the guide’s evidence categories, not a guaranteed filing sequence or an assurance of eligibility.
Must I earn AED 360,000 throughout the five-year residence?
Not as the cited guide states it. The AED 360,000 threshold, checked on 31 August 2026, applies specifically to annual freelance-work income during the previous two years.
Separately, the guide requires proof of stable annual income or financial solvency throughout the residence period in the UAE. It does not state that the AED 360,000 historical-income threshold must be repeated in every year of the five-year term or as a condition of renewal.
What does the five-year UAE Green Residence include?
| Feature | Position in the official guide |
|---|---|
| Residence term | Five years, with an option of renewal; checked 31 August 2026 |
| Living and working | The holder may live and work in the UAE without a sponsor |
| Family sponsorship | The holder may sponsor family members, including a spouse and children, in accordance with approved requirements |
| Expiry of residence | The guide refers to specified grace periods that may provide flexibility; any applicable period should be confirmed for the individual case |
This is general information rather than an eligibility decision. UAE requirements can change, so readers should check the current guide with UAE ICP or verify their circumstances with the relevant UAE immigration authority or consulate.
Sources
Frequently asked questions
Is the UAE Green Residence freelancer category the same as the skilled-worker category?
No. The guide lists them separately. The freelancer and self-employed category requires an MOHRE freelance work permit or self-employment permit, while the employed skilled-worker category requires a valid UAE employment contract.
What is the UAE Green Residence freelancer income requirement?
The annual income from freelance work during the previous two years must be at least AED 360,000 or its foreign-currency equivalent; checked 31 August 2026.
Does the category include self-employed individuals?
Yes. The official category is titled “Freelancers and Self-employed Individuals” and recognises either an MOHRE freelance work permit or an MOHRE self-employment permit.
Is the five-year Green Residence renewable?
The guide states a five-year term with an option of renewal, checked 31 August 2026. Renewal is described as an option, not an automatic outcome.
Important Disclaimer
This information is for educational purposes only and does not constitute legal or immigration advice. Consult a licensed immigration professional before making investment decisions. Requirements for the Spain Golden Visa are subject to change. Always verify with official government sources.